Rules Question: Refs "inadvertent whistle"

This is the one to use if you want to talk about general college football topics.
The X-Man Cometh
User avatar
Posts: 2540
Joined: August 2nd, 2013, 10:40 am
Location: New Mexico

Rules Question: Refs "inadvertent whistle"

Postby Xenon » October 10th, 2020, 9:12 pm

Ok, so after looking to the replay of the muffed spike by Nix in the Auburn/Arkansas game....

It seems to me that the refs made a BUNCH of mistakes on that play, and I wonder what the rules say is supposed to happen when the refs make a bunch of mistakes...

I think, that the "correct" version of the play should have been ... Nix fumbled the snap, so he can't spike the ball any more, he throws a "backward" pass, or a lateral, and it should NOT have been whistled dead at that point, and then whoever recovered the fumble should have the ball.... BUT the refs blew the whistle and called the play dead at a point when NEITHER team had possession....

SOOOO .... what is the rule IF the ball is in NEITHER team's possession at the time the refs blow the play dead?

I would assume it probably goes to the offense, but....

Return to Everything About College Football

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests